Baby Product Review! Sakura Bloom’s Ring Sling Baby Carrier

Hello everyone and welcome back to my blog! Or Welcome, if you’ve never been here! Today I have my review of Sakura Bloom brand’s ring sling baby carrier.

If you don’t know what a ring sling is, it’s a long piece of fabric that slips through two rings and back through for tension (like the D-rings on your belt), then you slip the sash formed over your shoulder, put baby inside in some particular positions and then cinch it so that baby is snug, comfortable and safe.

I’ll start by saying that we did get our ring sling second hand. We paid $50 for it, whereas new ones can run you upwards of $100 depending on the brand and variety.

The fabric on ours is linen and a refreshing light green color. It’s breathable, though baby can get quite warm when being carried so close to your own body and collecting heat in the little pouch she’s in, so make sure you check them often. I like to pull back a side of the fabric and blow in there to cool it down a little bit. They do make different fabrics, including mesh for summer and water use. I like the fact that mine is solid, allowing me to make a shady spot for little one in the sun (when she’s on her side in it). I’ve also used the tail end to cover her face when carrying her tummy to tummy.

The fabric is very strong. I’ve bent over and literally had her suspended in the sling, hanging from my body and she never slipped an inch. I’ve also tried tugging at the fabric in the rings to adjust it and been unable to force it to give when it isn’t in the right position, so I would say you have very little to worry about as far as losing tension.

The rings are very strong as well. They’re large and so far, have no signs of damage or wear, even with a previous owner and us putting it through the dryer.

Something particular to our Sakura Bloom brand sling is that the fabric is shorter than other ring slings. This could be problematic for some people, though I am pretty short and small, so it doesn’t bother me at all and gives me less to have to work with.

I hand wash my sling with a little bit of Doctor Bronner’s Baby variety liquid soap and then let it hang dry. If you don’t have the time, you can also stick a sock over the rings and throw it in the dryer on low.

Overall, I love this product and I’m extremely grateful that I got the opportunity to use it while she’s still small enough (they cap out recommending them at about 35 pounds). All thanks goes to Dad for buying it for us. It’s been a life saver, allowing us to be out and about and doing normal things in public 75% more.

I would definitely recommend this to new moms and dads, or even as a gift if you know someone who is expecting.

Leave a Reply

